Constructed in 1909 and dedicated in honor of Fr. Thomas Walsh, the 6th President of the University; Final facility built on Main (God) Quad; Considered a luxurious residence hall at the time -- it was one of the first halls to feature single rooms, closets, private bathrooms, and bay windows; Originally housed 173 men, the building also included a bowling alley in the basement; Converted into a women's hall in 1972 to house Notre Dame's first female students.
The room configurations in Walsh Hall offer many opportunities for residents. While a majority of the rooms (~70%) are balanced between singles and doubles, the remaining suites offer unique living arrangements. Suites include 3-person and 4-person occupancies. Some of the suites have private bathrooms.
RECTOR: MS. ANNIE SELAK, M.DIV.
Annie Selak holds a Master of Divinity degree from the Jesuit School of Theology at Berkeley. Throughout her graduate studies, she worked at a variety of Bay Area high schools, served as a Resident Minister at the University of San Francisco and coordinated West Oakland outreach for Pace e Bene Nonviolence Center. Annie received her Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science and Bachelor of Arts degree in Religious Studies with a minor in Catholic Studies from Santa Clara University, graduating magna cum laude. During her time at Santa Clara, Annie was active in campus ministry, participated in many spring break immersion trips and served as Student Body President.
Prior to her arrival at ND, Annie served as Director of Campus Ministry at Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy, an all-girls Catholic high school in La Cañada Flintridge, CA. She also spent a year as a Jesuit Volunteer in Detroit, MI, where she worked with at-risk youth at Alternatives for Girls. She is involved with the Fund for Theological Education, an ecumenical group committed to advancing excellence in ministry. She has a wealth of experience in vocational discernment, retreat work, and liturgical ministry.