Constructed in 1931 at the same time as Dillon Hall; At the time, it provided a border for the south edge of campus; Named in honor of the loyalty of alumni of the University; Intended to be a home for alumni returning to campus; First residence hall on campus to have an electric elevator; Originally configured to hold 212 students; Unique architecture includes gargoyles and stone carvings of everything from Madonna and Child (chapel entrance on north side), saints (Sts. Thomas Aquinas and Boneventure in the courtyard), dogs (Clashmore Mike, one of the original mascots of the football team), to Knute Rockne (east side); Chapel is dedicated to the patron saint of then-president Fr. Charles O'Donnell. Alumni Hall was renovated in the summer of 2004.
With over 260 beds, Alumni Hall offers a balanced room configuration ratio. Approximately 25% of the rooms are singles, 50% are doubles, and 25% are 4-man suites. A few rooms have private bathrooms.
RECTOR: REV. GEORGE ROZUM, C.S.C.
Rev. George Rozum, a Holy Cross priest ordained in 1968, became rector of Alumni Hall in 1978. Father George received his bachelor degree in Philosophy from the University of Notre Dame, an M.A. in Theology from Holy Cross College of Washington, D.C., and an M.S.A. from the University of Notre Dame. Prior to coming to Alumni Hall, he served as an associate pastor of St. Ignatius, Martyr, Parish in Austin, Texas, where he also served as chaplain to the Texas State School for the Deaf. Father George holds a National Certificate for Teaching the Deaf from the University of Texas, Austin.